Travel Theme: Graceful

Ailsa over at Where’s My Backpack does a weekly travel theme. This week, it’s about grace. I won’t personally qualify for this, because I am absolutely NOT graceful. My dancing is laughable, I bang into pretty much everything (just ask David, who’s learned to not be too concerned when he hears “Ow” coming from the next room) and I could trip on a completely flat surface.

Among the thousands of things in the world more graceful than I, jellyfish are my favorite. There is just something about them. I likely wouldn’t want to encounter one in the same body of water as me, but from a distance, I find them beautiful. They seem so serene. Watching them is so relaxing.

On rare occasions, I’ve been able to spot them in the wild– lion’s mane jellyfish are common in the Puget Sound. I’ve seen them near the harbor at Olympia and while on the ferry to the San Juan Islands. Photographing them well is another matter, though, so I won’t have one to include in this gallery. Otherwise, I’ve had to settle for seeing jellyfish in aquariums. I love aquariums in general, but I love them more when they have a good jellyfish exhibit. So far, my favorites are Monterey Bay Aquarium in Monterey, California and Georgia Aquarium in Atlanta.

Below are some of the photos of jellyfish that I took at Monterey Bay and Georgia Aquarium. I hope you enjoy their grace and serenity.

Do you know of other aquariums with a good jellyfish exhibit? Or just good aquariums in general. Drop me a note so I can go check them out!

4 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Graceful

  1. Pingback: Travel Theme-Graceful | WoollyMuses

  2. Pingback: One Year, One Hundred Posts! | World and Time Enough

Send a virtual postcard

