Tasty Thursdays: Ahi Poke

I’ve never been so excited about a recipe, and I knew as soon as I made it last Friday that no matter what else I ate, my Hawaiian poke would be this week’s Tasty Thursdays feature.

Hawaiian poke is basically sushi-grade ahi (yellowfin) tuna cut into bite-sized pieces and marinated in a sauce made of a variety of items, usually soy sauce-based, but I’ve had it with avocado, sriracha, honey, miso, and many others. It’s my favorite food in the world and a very powerful reason that I go to Hawaii so much (not that I really need more excuses).

image

We managed to get some really nice tuna and it’s been very warm in Seattle, so I wasn’t interested in actual cooking. Poke is mixed, chilled, and eaten with hot rice, so it seemed like the perfect thing to make. I had tried once before and failed– it was edible, but it wasn’t right. This time I tried a recipe from 425magazine.com and oh my gosh, do I owe them for this culinary success.

It appears that the secret to poke is sesame oil. I accidentally bought the spicy kind, but it actually worked out great. The only other deviation from the above recipe is that I used a tablespoon of honey, because my favorite poke from Da Poke Shack in Kona, the Shack Special, uses honey to great effect. I’ve yet to properly imitate that particular recipe, but the one I’ve come up with is quite excellent.

If you like sushi, you should definitely give Hawaiian poke a try. There are endless possibilities once you get the base recipe right. It’s the perfect summer dish!

Now it’s your turn to share your Tasty Thursdays deliciousness!

3 thoughts on “Tasty Thursdays: Ahi Poke

  1. Pingback: Tasty Thursdays: Makai Sushi | World and Time Enough

  2. Pingback: Tasty Thursdays: Hawaiian Food | World and Time Enough

  3. Pingback: Tasty Thursdays: Poke + Tropical Cake | World and Time Enough

Send a virtual postcard

