Tasty Thursdays: Pizza Cappriciosa

I was never a big fan of pizza until I came to Italy. I mean, the chewy crust that too often tasted like cardboard, the overwhelming amount of cheese (which was an issue even before I learned I am lactose intolerant), the either very bare or excessively generous amount of toppings… I was totally not a fan.

But then Italy happened, and I realized that pizza could, in fact, be amazing.

The dough! True Neapolitan pizza is supposed to be no more than 0.12 inches thick. I mean, it’s so delicious, you could eat it without toppings. Which, well, you could: there’s a version of pizza that is just cheese and tomato sauce.

My favorite though is the Cappriciosa. The toppings are simply mozzarella, ham, mushrooms, artichokes, and tomatoes. The ham is in actual big slices, not those tiny inch squares you get on American pizza. I love that there are so few ingredients: you get to enjoy the harmony of tastes that they produce. Nothing to overwhelm, but also nothing to underwhelm. There’s something to enjoy with every bite.

image

I had such a pizza at Al Nono Risorto in Venice, the one night I got to spend there before our ship set sail for Greece. Al Nono’s version included salami, and the only tomatoes were in the sauce. In a week of delicious food, this pizza stood out. We enjoyed it so much, actually, that when we couldn’t finish it (David had also spotted some pesto linguini which he couldn’t resist), we took away the one remaining quarter of the pizza to eat later. Even though the next day’s meal would be in the cruise ship, where there is always food available, everywhere.

I hope you’ve had a chance to try authentic Italian-style pizza. It’s life-changing!

Next week, I’ve got a tough job ahead to choose the next Tasty Thursday. Hope you’re having as great of a week in food and drink!

3 thoughts on “Tasty Thursdays: Pizza Cappriciosa

  1. Pingback: Tasty Thursdays – Menchie’s Frozen Yogurt | Living Better

  2. Pingback: One Year, One Hundred Posts! | World and Time Enough

Send a virtual postcard

