Tasty Thursdays: Paella

Greetings from Fort Lauderdale, where I have the amazing fortune of attending the Travel Blogging Expo

I shall be posting more on TBEX this weekend, as the conference has not actually started. Over the last couple days there have been plenty of cool Pre-BEX events exploring Fort Lauderdale and its tourism offerings: food tours, Everglades adventures, Segway rides, and more. There have also been several networking opportunities, which is great, but exhausting my introverted self. Oh well, gotta put that part on hold as I meet so many kindred spirits!

Tonight’s official opening festivities were held at the Museum of Discovery and Science, a very cool venue with lots of interactive exhibits. I wish I’d had a longer visit, because there was so much that I wanted to see and do in the two hours we were there — along with the dining and networking, of course. I had the chance to try a 7D ride (yes, it was out of this world dimensional, I guess) and watched some people do barrel rolls in a flight simulator. MODS is on my list for when I come back this way.

seafood paellaThere was a lot of delicious food this week thanks to being in a different city, and I’ve regretted not taking pictures of absolutely everything. Tonight’s highlight, among a lot of “Floribbean” bites, was a lovely seafood paellaPaella is basically a sautéed rice dish. The rice is braised in sofrito, which is a sauce blend containing garlic, onion, paprika, and tomatoes in olive oil. The seafood version adds clams and mussels in the shell, as well as shrimp.

The end result is so flavorful, it’s perfect for this week’s Tasty Thursdays. There’s a very strong Latin culture in South Florida, so this is definitely a good place to try this amazing dish, if you find yourself in the area!

I hope you guys are having an awesome week, and eating some sumptuous food. Stay posted for more on TBEX, or follow my Instagram or brand-new Twitter for live updates of the proceedings!

3 thoughts on “Tasty Thursdays: Paella

  1. Pingback: Adobo – Tasty Thursdays | ladyleemanila

Send a virtual postcard

