Tasty Thursdays: Spicy Tomato Shrimp Pasta

Hey everyone! For this week’s Tasty Thursdays, I’m sharing another recipe in my regular rotation. It’s a delicious shrimp and tomato sauce pasta dish that’s super quick and easy to prepare.When I was a kid, I was allergic to shrimp. Every time I ate it, I broke out in hives. But I really liked it! (Shrimp, not breaking out in hives.) Filipinos eat a lot of seafood, and shrimp has to be the most agreeable seafood in terms of taste, texture, preparation, etc. Yes, even more than fish!

Anyway, I liked shrimp so much that I didn’t even care if I got sick whenever I ate it. And somehow I grew out of the allergy, because now I’m perfectly okay. Which is great, because I love cooking shrimp.

So this recipe is from Taste of Home. You can follow the recipe as written and it’ll taste great. I modify depending on what ingredients I find, though. So here was my latest version.

24618351464_f0463ce479_k_d

Spicy Tomato Shrimp Pasta

Ingredients

  • 1 lb noodles (linguine, fettucine, or spaghetti)
  • 6 garlic cloves, minced 
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1.5 lb uncooked medium shrimp, peeled and deveined 
  • 3 5.5 oz cups Campbell’s tomato juice
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 4 tsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup white cooking wine
  • parsley flakes (for garnish)

Directions

  1. Cook noodles according to package directions.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large nonstick skillet, saute garlic in oil until tender. Stir in the shrimp, tomato juice, tomato sauce, pepper flakes, and pepper.
  3. In a small bowl, combine cornstarch and wine until smooth; stir into skillet. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 5-6 minutes or until shrimp turn pink and sauce is thickened.
  4. Drain fettuccine; stir into skillet. Sprinkle with basil just before serving.

Yield:6 servings.


My small modifications from the original recipe: I threw in more garlic (I love garlic), used canned tomato juice (it was hard to find any other kind) and a whole 8oz can of tomato sauce (why waste the rest?). Also, more chili flakes for a nice kick, and more wine, just because I really like using wine in cooking. What I was really doing, was adding more wine/cornstarch into the sauce to thicken it, so I ended up using more. It worked out great. Plus I had more sauce, which is always nice. I hate not having enough sauce.

It might seem like the dish is a bit dull, with just shrimp, pasta and tomato sauce. But the wine actually brightens it up a lot and adds an extra layer of complexity. And the chili flakes add just the perfect spice. I’m trying to think of what else I could add that would truly transform the dish, but I’m coming up blank so far.

Oh and this might seem really obvious, but… definitely use peeled and deveined shrimp. Don’t compromise and think it’s okay to use unpeeled since it’s cheaper by $2 per pound. You’ll regret it when you’re having to peel each saucy shrimp and you’re starving and trying not to make a huge mess… do I sound like I went through that? Maybe a little? Yeah, I’m just trying to save you the suffering.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to your delicious drinking and dining experience this week. See you on Tasty Thursdays!

9 thoughts on “Tasty Thursdays: Spicy Tomato Shrimp Pasta

  1. Hi, I used to cook a similar dish – prawn pasta with garlicky tomato based sauce with white wine. What was different in my recipe – and what could transform your dish – is mixing in fresh rucola leaves (just before serving, otherwise they become soggy). They add a specific taste to the dish.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Tasty Thursdays: Vegetable Pasta Salad recipe | Living Better

  3. Pingback: SL-WEEK 35 / COOK – ladyleemanila

Send a virtual postcard

