Tasty Thursdays: Asparagus in Sweet Oyster Sauce

Sorry guys, this Tasty Thursdays post is pretty late. Things have been pretty busy! But let’s get right to it. Remember how two weeks ago, I featured Heritage Food and Wine in Omaha? I loved their asparagus soooo much. I had to have it again!

However, I wasn’t planning on being in Omaha anytime soon, so the challenge was to recreate the dish. All I know about it: there’s asparagus, oyster sauce, and lardon, basically thinly sliced pieces of slab bacon. Well, lardon seemed too complicated just yet, but I did have bacon bits. Also in the pantry were oyster sauce, ponzu sauce, and one of the most delicious Asian condiments: mirin, a sweet rice wine.

I ended up with something quite delicious and fairly close to Heritage’s delicious appetizer, so I’m pretty pleased with myself.

Here is the recipe!

asparagus in sweet oyster sauce

Asparagus in Sweet Oyster Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb asparagus, thick ends trimmed
  • 1 tbsp bacon bits
  • 1/2 tbsp oyster sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp ponzu sauce
  • 3 tbsp mirin
  • 1/8 cup white cooking wine

Directions

  1. Bring a pan to medium heat. Add bacon bits, oyster sauce, ponzu sauce, mirin, and cooking wine.
  2. Saute for about 3 minutes.
  3. Add asparagus, saute until sauce is reduced and asparagus is tender, about 5 minutes. Serve immediately.

Note: it’s easy to over-bacon this recipe. Try to avoid that, as oyster sauce and ponzu are both salty as well. If sauce is too salty, add more cooking wine and mirin by the tablespoon until desired flavor is reached.


As I mentioned, this is a great sauce and can go with nearly anything. I’m going to try it on Brussels sprouts next!

Hope everyone is having a yummy week!

Send a virtual postcard

