Tasty Thursdays: Bistek

More Filipino food this week! Courtesy of Panlasang Pinoy (Filipino Taste). It was from this same gentleman that I got my adobo recipe. He’s really good!

This week I made bistek (the word is a “Filipinized” portmanteau of “beef steak”). It’s a dish cooked by marinating thin cuts of beef in soy sauce and lemon.

Tip: If you happen to have an Asian store near you, try to get calamansi instead of lemon. This is also a citrus fruit, but it’s much tinier (probably the size of a cherry tomato) and round, green on the outside, yellow on the inside. It’s got a stronger, more sour citrus flavor with a hint of sweetness.

This version adds a teriyaki flavor by adding sugar. It also features lots of onion–I use sweet yellow onions because every other kind is too overpowering for my taste.

The recipe calls for sesame oil, and because the sesame oil I have at home is mildly spicy, my bistek dish had a little kick. Add the brightness of the citrus, and it was a more complex dish than I expected. Really yummy!

Interestingly, I never used to like bistek much as a kid. I don’t think I was a huge fan of beef in general, and like I said, the onions could get overpowering. I’m glad I rediscovered this dish though. I really quite like it now, and it’s pretty similar to adobo both in flavor and in the sense that it doesn’t require a lot of active cooking time.

25850634315_1d4efc830c_z_d

Bistek

How was your week in food? Join Tasty Thursdays!

Here are the rules:

  1. Think back on your week and pick the tastiest thing you ate. It could be from breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Could be something you made, or something you bought. Sweet, savory, bitter, as long as you loved it!
  2. Blog about that food! Give us a recipe, post a photo, tell us where you got it. Share the foodie love! Tag your post with tastythursdays.
  3. Include a link to the Tasty Thursdays page, so your friends can join in. The pingbacks will help us all see the week’s deliciousness and maybe inspire us for next week.

Happy dining!

One thought on “Tasty Thursdays: Bistek

Send a virtual postcard

