Coming Home

Coming back after a trip is always so difficult, isn’t it? “Reality” always seems so drab compared to the glorious time you were just having.

Have you seen the Matrix? Here’s a reference that explains how I feel: traveling is the red pill. You go where your interests lead. You are challenged by your environment, and you are up to the task. You try new things. You go out there and you are suddenly your real self, left to your own devices.

Daily life is the blue pill. Instead of getting up every day full of excitement for what new adventures you’ll get up to, you have to go to work, go home, do your chores, rinse, and repeat. It’s the fabricated reality. Of course life isn’t that boring, but still. You do things you have to do so you can take the red pill again.

Blue pill or red pill? Photo by Hector Garcia

Blue pill or red pill? Photo by Hector Garcia

 

Don’t get me wrong– it’s nice coming home, too. I don’t like taking overly long trips (I think two weeks is the longest single period I would like to travel) because your experiences in the beginning start to become blurry, a bit. Have you had that experience too or is it just me? I feel like I get sensory overload. Too much new, too much awesome. Since I’ve started blogging, I try to make notes of what I do every day, but the beginning of the trip still starts to lose its luster.

Which is why I don’t think I could ever live a life of constant travel, despite how much I enjoy it.

This is my long-winded way of saying I’m trying to come down off my red pill high. I am readjusting to my daily life, and it’s been challenging what with some work trips thrown in right after I got back. Piles of laundry need to be folded, blog entries need to be polished up (or in some cases, actually written), the fridge and pantry need to be restocked.

In the meantime, here is a small present–a cool Google video of the first part of our Japan trip. (Hope that link works.) Enjoy, and see you soon!

 

3 thoughts on “Coming Home

Send a virtual postcard

