Tasty Thursdays: Baked Brie

We celebrated David’s birthday this week. My friend prepared such a fun dinner!

It started with some shrimp, mushroom, and carrot croquettes, followed by a cool concept:

26297772660_17436b05d5_z_d

Make your own pizza!

Basically, there were pizza toppings (chicken sausage, salami, arugula, spinach, mushrooms, pizza sauce, cheese), as well as some flatbread rounds. We put as much or as little of whatever we wanted on the flatbread, and then popped it into the oven for about ten minutes. This is such a great idea, I can’t believe I’ve never tried it before–and it might happen at my next house gathering.

The star of the dinner, though, was the baked Brie. My friend explained it like this: you get a round of Brie, cut it in half while cold so it doesn’t go all mushy-melty on you, then fill it in with whatever you like (in this case it was cranberries and walnuts, though we did have an amazing apricot Brie in Switzerland once, which I might attempt to replicate). You then put the halves back together, cover it all in puff pastry, and then bake it at 400F until golden.

26478172032_4a34fe8144_z_d

Baked Brie with cranberries and walnuts

Easy peasy, but super awesome. I am not a huge fan of cheese but Brie definitely holds the top spot, so I’m really excited to try this for myself.

I hope you guys had a delicious week in food. See you next week on Tasty Thursdays!

One thought on “Tasty Thursdays: Baked Brie

Send a virtual postcard

