Tasty Thursdays: Sinigang (Filipino Sour Soup)

My absolute Filipino dish is sinigang. I swear, I could eat this stuff every single day of my life and not be bored of it.Unfortunately, David can’t stand it. He doesn’t mind the taste, but he hates the smell. I don’t get it–the man isn’t bothered by durian or fish sauce, which are typical smells most people can’t handle. But this dish gets to him. It’s weird.

So, I only make sinigang when he’s not around (or when I eat out at Filipino restaurants). Last weekend he went to visit his family in California, so I took the opportunity to make a pot of sinigang, which was still good for a few meals.

What is it anyway? This is a soupy, brothy dish, much like many Filipino main dishes. The ingredients are pretty healthy: pork and a bunch of veggies. What makes this dish is the sour taste of the soup, which you get by adding a tamarind base to the broth. I like my sinigang pretty sour!

I like to put okra in my sinigang because I love okra, and because it changes the texture of the broth to a slightly thicker soup, which I like. But if you don’t like okra, you don’t have to add it. That’s the beauty of this dish! Some veggies just won’t work (think, I dunno, cauliflower) but otherwise you can throw your favorites in. If you want tons of greens, that’s fine! I’ve also made it only with daikon radish and okra, which is great too.

Like adobo, making sinigang is as simple as throwing everything into a pot and letting it simmer for a while. Serve with rice when the pork is tender, and you’re all set for a delicious, comforting meal that’s especially wonderful when it’s cold or rainy outside.

26082062154_914c0cb210_z_d

Here’s my sinigang recipe.

Pork Sinigang Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1.5 lb pork, preferably rump or belly, cut into cubes
  • 1 small eggplant
  • 1 piece of daikon radish (about 6 inches long), chopped
  • 6-8 pieces okra
  • A handful of green beans
  • Baby bok choy
  • 1 packet tamarind soup base
  • cooked rice

Directions

  1. Put the pork in a large pot and add just enough water to cover the pork.
  2. Bring to a boil. Add half the tamarind soup base.
  3. Let simmer for at least a half hour.
  4. Add the daikon radish and green beans. Simmer for 15 minutes. Check flavor and add more soup base as desired.
  5. Add all other ingredients. Simmer for 15 more minutes.
  6. Serve over hot cooked rice.

Do you have any foods you absolutely love, but your partner or kids won’t eat? How do you get around it?

And did you have a good week in food? Share your favorite on Tasty Thursdays!

2 thoughts on “Tasty Thursdays: Sinigang (Filipino Sour Soup)

Send a virtual postcard

