Tasty Thursdays: California Quinoa Salad

Hi all! It’s summer, and a time when it’s just too hot to be in the kitchen making casseroles or even cooking on the stove top for longer than a few minutes at a time.

That means salads. Which is complicated by the fact that, well, I don’t actually like salad.

Seriously, when I eat greens I feel like a rabbit. As though I pulled off a leaf from a bush outside and just chewed on that. Yech.

However I do know that leafy greens are good for you. So I throw in some spinach or kale or even lettuce into my salads, but I need some tasty ingredients along with it to make it yummy.

So it’s with great delight that I discovered, thanks to Chungah at Damn Delicious, a salad recipe that involves NO leafy greens, but is still really good and healthy! She says this is a copycat recipe from Whole Foods… I don’t shop at Whole Foods so I’ve never tried it outside of this recipe, but I can tell you it was absolutely delicious. It’s my favorite quinoa salad right now. The sweetness of the mango and the coconut, the tang of the balsamic vinegar and lime dressing, the crunch of the almonds, edamame, and onion… can’t go wrong.

California Quinoa Salad courtesy of Damn Delicious.

California Quinoa Salad courtesy of Damn Delicious.

Head on over to Chungah’s site and check out her California Quinoa Salad!

And how was your week in food? Don’t forget to share it on Tasty Thursdays!

3 thoughts on “Tasty Thursdays: California Quinoa Salad

  1. Pingback: Tasty Thursdays: Chinese chicken salad | World and Time Enough

Send a virtual postcard

